• Dining Practice Standards 2011

    Wednesday January 4, 2012

    Pioneer Network Announces New Dining Practices Standards 

    The Pioneer Network announced that its Food and Dining Clinical Standards Task Force: A Rothschild Regulatory Task Force has finalized new Dining Practice Standards agreed to by twelve national clinical standard-setting associations. These nationally agreed upon new food and dining standards of practice support individualized care and self-directed living versus traditional diagnosis-focused treatment for people living in nursing home. The New Dining Practice Standards document reflects evidence-based research available to-date as well as current thinking.

    The Pioneer Network stated that the importance of these new agreed upon clinical standards cannot be overstated as food and dining are an integral part of individualized care and self-directed living for people living in nursing homes.

    Pioneer Network plans to submit the new Dining Practice Standards to CMS, FDA, CDC and the long-term care community at large.  It is anticipated that CMS will refer to these new agreed-upon standards of practice within long term care interpretive guidance where they fit as CMS usually refers to the current standards of practice set by the clinicians who work within the long term care field. It is the goal of the Task Force that surveyors, clinicians and interdisciplinary team members will put these new standards into practice in order to continue their efforts to improve quality of life for those living in nursing homes across the country.

    New Dining Practice Standards 8-26-11

    Categories :


Comments closed